Headunit Install

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
Post Reply
PSBS
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:25 pm
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)

Headunit Install

Post by PSBS » Mon Apr 27, 2015 6:18 pm

Hi all. New to this forum so cant access all areas yet.
Had my Caddy a week & already not having aux/bluetooth/handsfree has killed me!

I have a double din headunit (Sony) from my old van.
I have a fascia adapter & wiring loom.

Now ive come to fit it but am left with 2 wires - 'Ignition Switch' & 'Illumination' as shown below;

Where do i run them? What exactly do i do?
Im familiar with basic wiring so have no issues doing it, just want to save the hassle having to take the van apart finding the answer!

Any help appreciated!

Image

PSBS
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:25 pm
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)

Re: Headunit Install

Post by PSBS » Mon May 04, 2015 4:05 pm

Anyone able to help? Sat collecting dust now :(

stan-the-man
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:41 am
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)
Location: IRL Co.Clare/PL Gdansk

Re: Headunit Install

Post by stan-the-man » Mon May 04, 2015 4:25 pm

What year is your van? Theres no switched live at the radio plug but it could be taken from near by, same goes for illumination feed.
Regarding second your heater panel should have grey/blue wire in 20 pin plug (T20/17) you could take it from there.
Some info about your car would help.
Image

PSBS
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:25 pm
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)

Re: Headunit Install

Post by PSBS » Mon May 04, 2015 5:47 pm

Hi thanks for the reply.
My van is a 2007 plate 104 tdi.

So are you saying take the illumination feed from the grey/blue wire on the heater controls???

Where's best to run it off the live off nearby?

stan-the-man
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:41 am
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)
Location: IRL Co.Clare/PL Gdansk

Re: Headunit Install

Post by stan-the-man » Mon May 04, 2015 5:51 pm

Correct!
Does your van have "smoker pack"? I mean the cigarette lighter has a light ring around it? It would have same wire there too for illumination, probably easier to access too. If your cigarette lighter has black ring around it, it wont have the wire.

Ill see where would be handiest ignition switch feed...
Image

PSBS
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:25 pm
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)

Re: Headunit Install

Post by PSBS » Mon May 04, 2015 5:55 pm

I honestly don't know without looking in the van tomorrow! Ha.
But getting to the heaters shouldn't be too hard.

Just the Ignition Live remaining. Thanks dude :D

stan-the-man
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:41 am
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)
Location: IRL Co.Clare/PL Gdansk

Re: Headunit Install

Post by stan-the-man » Mon May 04, 2015 6:04 pm

Does your van have standard heater or a/c or climatronic?

If standard heater I think the T20/19 black/blue is switched live but would have to double check...
Image

PSBS
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:25 pm
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)

Re: Headunit Install

Post by PSBS » Mon May 04, 2015 6:06 pm

Standard heater!
That's brilliant tho if I can run both off the heater wiring!

PSBS
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:25 pm
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)

Re: Headunit Install

Post by PSBS » Mon May 04, 2015 7:33 pm

Just checked, lighter doesn't have illumination ring, so it looks like il have to go off the heater controls with that!
Have you be able to confirm using the switch wire from the heater controls?

Thanks again!

stan-the-man
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:41 am
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)
Location: IRL Co.Clare/PL Gdansk

Re: Headunit Install

Post by stan-the-man » Tue May 05, 2015 6:44 am

I would be 85% sure it would be switched at that location. My computer has crashed last night so won't be able to confirm 100% until later today
Image

PSBS
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:25 pm
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)

Re: Headunit Install

Post by PSBS » Tue May 05, 2015 7:59 pm

That's okay mate. Get back to me when you can :)
Appreciate the help so far!

Shiprat
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:11 am
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)

Re: Headunit Install

Post by Shiprat » Wed May 06, 2015 8:41 am

Following this since I'm gonna install a new head unit this weekend I think.

Do any of you have a problem with engine whine coming over the speakers?
I was toying with the thought running power directly from the battery for the stereo to get rid of interference and putting a relay controlled by a switched live to open and close that feed.
It might be a bit complicated but on the current original RCD300 there really is an awful lot of whine.. I'm gonna be running a feed for a sub anyway so might as well.

Sort of like image below, I believe the Sub waits for a signal from the headunit before starting up so should be okay to have it before the relay.

Image

stan-the-man
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:41 am
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)
Location: IRL Co.Clare/PL Gdansk

Re: Headunit Install

Post by stan-the-man » Wed May 06, 2015 4:47 pm

It should be good feed bud!
Image

PSBS
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:25 pm
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (74bhp)

Re: Headunit Install

Post by PSBS » Wed May 13, 2015 4:20 pm

Shout out to Stan-The-Man!
Certainly lived up to your Username with the help given above! :lol:

Got this in today, took all of 10 mins with the above advice.
Completely updated the van! No more radio rubbish, adverts, talking, rubbish music!!!!

I actually think it looks at home without being too flash!


Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Avalanche, scoobxs and 1 guest