How do you fit auto lights switch

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
User avatar
Jcalvert95
200BHP+
Posts: 257
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:44 pm
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)
Location: Carlisle, Cumbria

How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Jcalvert95 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:30 pm

Has anyone bought and fitted the auto lights switch with the little sensor you stick on your dash. If so could you tell me what route you took and how you done it please.
Jack Calvert
Caddy Maxi 1.6 TDI
Carlisle Cumbria UK

User avatar
Beaker2135
Hyper Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 6:28 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Cumbria

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Beaker2135 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:01 pm

You just change the switch, the unit plugs into the back between the switch and the loom. The sensor usually goes in the quarter light, pop the trim off the side of the dash and the trim from the bottom of the quarter light
I have a switch and sensor and I'll help you fit them if you want. I'm in Alston :D
If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is

User avatar
Jcalvert95
200BHP+
Posts: 257
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:44 pm
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)
Location: Carlisle, Cumbria

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Jcalvert95 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:26 pm

Beaker2135 wrote:You just change the switch, the unit plugs into the back between the switch and the loom. The sensor usually goes in the quarter light, pop the trim off the side of the dash and the trim from the bottom of the quarter light
I have a switch and sensor and I'll help you fit them if you want. I'm in Alston :D
If I can figure out what the quater light is I should manage? What is it mate?
Jack Calvert
Caddy Maxi 1.6 TDI
Carlisle Cumbria UK

User avatar
Beaker2135
Hyper Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 6:28 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Cumbria

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Beaker2135 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:45 pm

The little window between the windscreen and the door
If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is

User avatar
Jcalvert95
200BHP+
Posts: 257
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:44 pm
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)
Location: Carlisle, Cumbria

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Jcalvert95 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:31 am

Beaker2135 wrote:The little window between the windscreen and the door
As soon as i wrote that I clicked on what it was haha. Did you find it difficult to run the cable there with it being hidden.
Jack Calvert
Caddy Maxi 1.6 TDI
Carlisle Cumbria UK

User avatar
Beaker2135
Hyper Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 6:28 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Cumbria

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Beaker2135 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:05 pm

LOL Not for the one I had it was just plug and play, only the sensor wire to run. 30 mins of a job. It took longer to make sense of the instruction. Got a love the chinese :D
If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is

shanky887614
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1340
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:05 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Re: RE: Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by shanky887614 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:33 pm

Jcalvert95 wrote: As soon as i wrote that I clicked on what it was haha. Did you find it difficult to run the cable there with it being hidden.
its easy.

the little bit of trim can easily be prised up and with the door open the side can be taken off the dash.

you should be able to thread it through without dismantly the dash

**

User avatar
Jcalvert95
200BHP+
Posts: 257
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:44 pm
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)
Location: Carlisle, Cumbria

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Jcalvert95 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:57 pm

Thanks guys, managed to do it easy. Just didn't want to start pulling trims and snapping clips, to be left with trims hanging off while I ordered more clips. Seen as no one mentioned any problems I just went ahead with it. I did however start prising the switch out with a screw driver to then find it pushes in and turns to come out. Effortless.
Jack Calvert
Caddy Maxi 1.6 TDI
Carlisle Cumbria UK

T5XYG
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 8:48 pm
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by T5XYG » Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:28 am

So autolights retrofit, it's simply a new switch and little sensor? That's it? No coding?

G

shanky887614
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1340
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:05 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Re: RE: Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by shanky887614 » Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:54 am

T5XYG wrote:So autolights retrofit, it's simply a new switch and little sensor? That's it? No coding?

G
there is two ways to do it.

the aftermarket way requires no coding.

the oem route gives you auto lights and auto wipers.

**

Glenboy
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 10:54 am
Engine size/power: 1.4 16V Petrol (79bhp)

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Glenboy » Sat Oct 15, 2016 5:06 pm

Anybody got the link for this please? :D

Nath_cuddy
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:31 pm
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Nath_cuddy » Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:45 am

Handy thread. I'm definately going to have to look in to this. No difference between face-lift and non face-lift items I assume?
Professional Detailing services located in South Wales.
Swissvax Authorised Detailer.

User avatar
Jcalvert95
200BHP+
Posts: 257
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:44 pm
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)
Location: Carlisle, Cumbria

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Jcalvert95 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 7:52 pm

Nath_cuddy wrote:Handy thread. I'm definately going to have to look in to this. No difference between face-lift and non face-lift items I assume?
Nope, it's all to do with the switch not the lights.
Jack Calvert
Caddy Maxi 1.6 TDI
Carlisle Cumbria UK

DHD
100BHP+
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:33 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (108bhp)

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by DHD » Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:16 pm

A very handy mod for those who can't tell that it's getting dark.

Nath_cuddy
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:31 pm
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)

Re: How do you fit auto lights switch

Post by Nath_cuddy » Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:02 am

Jcalvert95 wrote:Nope, it's all to do with the switch not the lights.
Thought so. Thanks!
Professional Detailing services located in South Wales.
Swissvax Authorised Detailer.

Post Reply