2012 odometer whilst driving?

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
User avatar
Trials 21
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:54 pm
Engine size/power: 1.8 20V Turbo

2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Trials 21 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 4:56 pm

Hi there is there a way I can display my total odometer whilst driving(like the picture shows) instead of it changing to display kph in its place? Image

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk


User avatar
Trials 21
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:54 pm
Engine size/power: 1.8 20V Turbo

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Trials 21 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 9:46 am

Bump


Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk


User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Liam » Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:26 am

if you turn off cruise control it will revert to odometer i think - thats assuming u have cruise control as thats how my 2016 works
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

Billyblunt
Caddy Fan
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:13 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Billyblunt » Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:09 pm

No, it flips over to Kph as it's apparently a requirement to pass an mot as your clocks only show Mph.

User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Liam » Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:54 pm

our irish ones show kph i assumed thats what he regerred to
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

Billyblunt
Caddy Fan
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:13 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Billyblunt » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:01 pm

The UK main clocks show Mph but the little display flips to Kph when you drive off. It's annoying as I'd rather it stayed on the total mileage but apparently it's a requirement.

User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Liam » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:22 pm

must check it out tomorrow when it gets back from the paint shop
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

Billyblunt
Caddy Fan
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:13 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Billyblunt » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:24 pm

Yes it would be interesting to know if a Kph flips to Mph?

User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Liam » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:20 pm

so this is what i get while cruise control is on but not active i have no current total mileage

Image

however when i turn off cruise control my odometer returns

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

User avatar
Doc
Not God, just a bellend
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Monaghan, Ireland & Leicestershire, UK

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Doc » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:38 pm

The original poster has a midline instrument cluster, on this cluster the bottom line shows the trip distance, the next line from the bottom shows odometer when stationary and kmh when moving.
I don't think there is any way around it on the midline instrument cluster.
Image
Image
2013 1.6TDI, Superplus Wheels MSP19 , Caddy4 rear lights, 2016 Polo GTI (mk7 style) steering wheel, TRC front splitter, Relentless Tuning front coilovers, Audi A6 S-Line front seats, mk6 GTI Front & rear Brakes, 3D Colour Premium dash cluster, Caddy life arm rest, Motexion bulkhead, 2016 MIB head unit


I have genuine VCDS Hex V2, VagCAN Pro, KESS, K-Tag for any of your programming needs.

User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Liam » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:10 am

ahhh makes sense doc well spotted
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

Geraout
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:52 am
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Geraout » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:30 pm

Can the country be changed to Australia with VCDS as the highline can?

This adds the option of turning off "Alt Speed Display"..

User avatar
Doc
Not God, just a bellend
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Monaghan, Ireland & Leicestershire, UK

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Doc » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:43 pm

Where do you get this option on the midline instrument cluster? There is no "settings" screen.
Image
Image
2013 1.6TDI, Superplus Wheels MSP19 , Caddy4 rear lights, 2016 Polo GTI (mk7 style) steering wheel, TRC front splitter, Relentless Tuning front coilovers, Audi A6 S-Line front seats, mk6 GTI Front & rear Brakes, 3D Colour Premium dash cluster, Caddy life arm rest, Motexion bulkhead, 2016 MIB head unit


I have genuine VCDS Hex V2, VagCAN Pro, KESS, K-Tag for any of your programming needs.

User avatar
Sean1066
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:01 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Torbay Devon

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Sean1066 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:55 pm

Doc wrote:
Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:38 pm
The original poster has a midline instrument cluster, on this cluster the bottom line shows the trip distance, the next line from the bottom shows odometer when stationary and kmh when moving.
I don't think there is any way around it on the midline instrument cluster.
Do you have to change the midline instrument cluster to get the same cluster as Liam or can you change with VCDS?
Last edited by Sean1066 on Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ex BG 2011 Caddy maxi CR20 TDI,
Remapped to 140, mk5 golf mfsw, Colour coded bumpers, VW Cadiz 18s, wheels, Vanstyle bumper protecter, Vanstyle rear spoiler, Vanstyle roof rails, After market fog lights. Lowered on V-Maxx, Audi A3 S Line seats on Touran bases, Audi TT air vents

Billyblunt
Caddy Fan
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:13 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: 2012 odometer whilst driving?

Post by Billyblunt » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:22 pm

Now that's a question close to my heart as I think I have the midline & It's very basic. If you could change some of the screen options via VCDS, that would be ace.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


Post Reply