Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
User avatar
Ringbolted
Caddy Fan
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:58 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Hampshire

Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Ringbolted » Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:24 pm

Afternoon boys n girls, after fitting my Mk7 Golf R line seats the seat occupancy warning will not extinguish. Everything is wired correctly and research suggests a sensor reset. I have a genuine Hex- V2 and found the right adaptation page, I also made sure I went into the security page first. Thing is, it just won't open the adaptation.

Loads of guides say you don't need a security code but it appears I do, any clues of how to get hold of it would be awesome, or some pointers on how to reset the sensor. Thank you all!!!!!

User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Liam » Sun Jan 06, 2019 3:17 pm

are you sure its a coding issue ?

when i fitted the passat interior to mine to seat occupancy sensor was wired differently than how the caddy occupancy sensor was and i had to rewire it slightly under the seat to allow it to work properly
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

User avatar
Ringbolted
Caddy Fan
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:58 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Hampshire

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Ringbolted » Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:37 pm

Hi mate, good point there. When Tommyzoom made the loom I sent him all the wiring and plug details. I did have to change the seat belt buckle to a golf one as the caddy ones didn't fit. As soon as I connect the belt buckle plug (2 pin black), the occupancy warning lights up and doesn't extinguish when the seat belt is plugged in.

The 2 pin loom (seat occupancy) was wired straight to the new loom. Just to clarify, tommyzoom made me a adapted loom that went between the car and the seat, that way I didn't have to de-pin anything and was effectively plug and play.

How exactly did you re-wire if you don't mind me asking?

User avatar
Doc
Not God, just a bellend
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Monaghan, Ireland & Leicestershire, UK

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Doc » Sun Jan 06, 2019 7:53 pm

Seat occupancy sensors are usually on the passenger seats to enable the seatbelt warning when someone is sat in the seat.
The driver's seat doesn't usually have this as it's a bit difficult for a vehicle to be driven without the driver's seat occupied.
Image
Image
2013 1.6TDI, Superplus Wheels MSP19 , Caddy4 rear lights, 2016 Polo GTI (mk7 style) steering wheel, TRC front splitter, Relentless Tuning front coilovers, Audi A6 S-Line front seats, mk6 GTI Front & rear Brakes, 3D Colour Premium dash cluster, Caddy life arm rest, Motexion bulkhead, 2016 MIB head unit


I have genuine VCDS Hex V2, VagCAN Pro, KESS, K-Tag for any of your programming needs.

User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Liam » Sun Jan 06, 2019 8:45 pm

i cant remember which had 2 connectors possibly the caddy seat had a seperate occupancy sensor and seat belt detector for the buckle whilst the passat had one 2 wire lead that split part way up and went to both the seat detector and the buckle

when you remove the protective tape you will see that 1 wire goes directly to the buckle one goes to the detector and the second wire from each are joined together

i ended up cutting the loom from the caddy buckle and adding it to the passat occupancy sensor il add a pic in a min its just a quick sketch but hopefully it makes sense
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Liam » Sun Jan 06, 2019 8:45 pm

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

User avatar
Ringbolted
Caddy Fan
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:58 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Hampshire

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Ringbolted » Sun Jan 06, 2019 9:36 pm

Doc, the light stays illuminated when a passenger is seated and with their seatbelt buckled; I guess I didn't make that clear earlier, sorry.

Liam, I'm wired up like this, you can clearly see the the blue occupancy and black buckle plugs on the van side on the van. I'm wondering, as both looms have blue and brown wires, I've got them back to front when I sent a wiring diagram to Tommyzoom (wires from blue plug swap to black plug)?? It might be worth a go I think?

It could also be the orientation of the 4 wires at the brown plug, as I know traced the wires from the seat to the brown seat plug correctly. Time to get the fluke out I reckon.

I really appreciate your help chaps, if I had wiring diagrams, I would've had this licked by now; I'm just too tight to pay for a VW subscription........ :roll:
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Liam » Sun Jan 06, 2019 9:55 pm

if you unplug the seatbelt occupancy part what happens ?
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

User avatar
Ringbolted
Caddy Fan
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:58 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Hampshire

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Ringbolted » Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:11 pm

Good question? I'll do it in the morning. When I unplug the seat buckle plug, the warning disappears.

User avatar
Liam
Hyper Poster
Posts: 3103
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:47 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Cavan

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Liam » Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:50 pm

while you are at it trace the brown blue wires from the blue plug thru the red plug and on to the other blue plug make sure they dont cross as some stage its highly unlikely but possible i guess
2016 2.0 Tdi Mk4 Trendline caddy 160bhp
Remapped by Joe Power at TDR.ie www.tdr.ie
Build thread here
http://caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34976

User avatar
Ringbolted
Caddy Fan
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:58 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Hampshire

Re: Help needed - seat occupancy sensor reset.

Post by Ringbolted » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:30 pm

Only unplugging both black plugs, one on each seat does the warning light go out. Van is off for an MOT tomorrow so will have to do the multimeter work at the end of the week. If I do find something are there specialist pin removal tools or can they be unshipped any other way?

Post Reply