Top mount Coilover fixing

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
MillerTime
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 6:48 pm

Top mount Coilover fixing

Post by MillerTime » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:41 am

Have been fitting an STX lowering kit over the weekend and would like to know the best socket to enable me to torque up the 22mm recessed nut on the top strut mount which also allows me to hold the shaft with a 10mm socket. Any advice gracefully appreciated.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Giddy
100BHP+
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 5:56 pm
Location: GL11

Re: Top mount Coilover fixing

Post by Giddy » Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:41 pm

Try 22mm oxygen sensor socket
My Caddy 4 build thread viewtopic.php?f=13&t=37368

User avatar
Doc
Not God, just a bellend
Posts: 11197
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Monaghan, Ireland & Leicestershire, UK

Re: Top mount Coilover fixing

Post by Doc » Mon Mar 11, 2019 2:30 pm

Maybe a hollow socket set like Halfords Vortex will allow you to get another socket on the 10mm.
Image
Image
2013 1.6TDI, Superplus Wheels MSP19 , Caddy4 rear lights, 2016 Polo GTI (mk7 style) steering wheel, TRC front splitter, Relentless Tuning front coilovers, Audi A6 S-Line front seats, mk6 GTI Front & rear Brakes, 3D Colour Premium dash cluster, Caddy life arm rest, Motexion bulkhead, 2016 MIB head unit


I have genuine VCDS Hex V2, VagCAN Pro, KESS, K-Tag for any of your programming needs.

User avatar
tommyzooom
Hyper Poster
Posts: 5871
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 11:37 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Donegal

Re: Top mount Coilover fixing

Post by tommyzooom » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:37 pm

I use a cranked 22mm ring spanner

hungry monkey
Caddy Fan
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 1:24 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)

Re: Top mount Coilover fixing

Post by hungry monkey » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:38 pm

We got a £5 socket from halfords then used an angle grinder to create two flats on to which an adjustable spanner could grip, when I did my mk1 suspension the other week - the thru sockets didn't go big enough for the top mounts!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


Post Reply