Highline upgrade

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
Killerkp
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 7:57 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Highline upgrade

Post by Killerkp » Fri May 31, 2019 11:29 am

Hello,
I’m new to the forum and I’ve just picked up a 2011 1.6tdi Caddy with the low line clocks and no cruise control or mpg . I would like to upgrade to Highline. I’m looking to do the install myself. I had a few questions.
Has anyone else done this?
What software will I need to do it?
What parts will I need? Highline clocks, the new stalks
Do I need Highline to see mpg or can I just get the different stalk and code it in?
Unrelated question, is there a way I can stiffen the read leaf springs as I intend to tow a caravan with the caddy?

Thanks

claudiu2s
100BHP+
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:30 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (138bhp)
Location: Hemel Hempstead/Watford

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by claudiu2s » Fri May 31, 2019 2:07 pm

the clocks you have at the moment should be middline and they support trip. U only need to add the trip stalk and code it. On this year van the stalks are joined (indicator stalk is joined with wiper stalk). Regarding highline clocks u will need special tools to do it , is not plug and play.
I have genuine VCDS, VagCAN Pro, SMOK and ODIS with online server access for any of your programming needs in Hemel Hempstead/Watford area.
vcds.diagnostic@gmail.com
https://www.facebook.com/pg/VCDSDiagnos ... e_internal
http://vcds-diagnostic.simplesite.com/

Killerkp
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 7:57 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by Killerkp » Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:20 pm

Thanks for the reply! Do you happen to know the part number I might need?

claudiu2s
100BHP+
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:30 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (138bhp)
Location: Hemel Hempstead/Watford

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by claudiu2s » Mon Jun 03, 2019 11:37 am

i have a set in for sale section, supply and fit £210. u need special tools for IMMO which is in the clocks
I have genuine VCDS, VagCAN Pro, SMOK and ODIS with online server access for any of your programming needs in Hemel Hempstead/Watford area.
vcds.diagnostic@gmail.com
https://www.facebook.com/pg/VCDSDiagnos ... e_internal
http://vcds-diagnostic.simplesite.com/

Killerkp
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 7:57 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by Killerkp » Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:02 am

Are you anywhere near Cornwall? If I buy them and get someone with VCDS down here to code them in is that possible? Thanks for the help

User avatar
Dugpal
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:37 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by Dugpal » Fri Jun 07, 2019 2:52 pm

I have added cruise and trip stalks. It only requires that you buy the stalks part number 5K0953507AR or another part number that might be specific to stalks with both is 5K0953513S. Make sure you check that it has both trip switch and the cruise part. You can get versions with either side or both.

Just needs installing and activating using a vagcom, I think I remember having to activate it on multiple control modules to get it to work.

Should look like this
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OE-Turn-Sign ... Swd3dZZZnT
2011 1.6 TDI

Killerkp
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 7:57 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by Killerkp » Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:03 pm

Thanks for the reply! I’ve ordered the whole unit and I’ve got VCDS so will fit it and code it when it arrives. Thanks again for the help!

User avatar
Dugpal
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:37 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by Dugpal » Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:20 pm

Killerkp wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:03 pm
Thanks for the reply! I’ve ordered the whole unit and I’ve got VCDS so will fit it and code it when it arrives. Thanks again for the help!
The stalks alone give you MPG, digital speed, temp etc. I didn't bother getting the highline instrument cluster so I am not sure exactly what it intails to install those if this was the route you wanted to go down. If you get stuck with the stalk coding I'm sure someone on here can help, I remember it was a bit faffy to get it all to work properly as the coding needed altering in a few places.
2011 1.6 TDI

claudiu2s
100BHP+
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:30 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (138bhp)
Location: Hemel Hempstead/Watford

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by claudiu2s » Mon Jun 10, 2019 2:52 pm

Killerkp wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:02 am
Are you anywhere near Cornwall? If I buy them and get someone with VCDS down here to code them in is that possible? Thanks for the help
Unfortunately i am not, i am just outside London. If u really want highline clocks then i can offer u postage service. I will need the clocks in your van an 1 key though which means u need to post them to me and then will post them back ASAP together with highline clocks coded and then will be plug and play
I have genuine VCDS, VagCAN Pro, SMOK and ODIS with online server access for any of your programming needs in Hemel Hempstead/Watford area.
vcds.diagnostic@gmail.com
https://www.facebook.com/pg/VCDSDiagnos ... e_internal
http://vcds-diagnostic.simplesite.com/

Nubnubb0r
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:51 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by Nubnubb0r » Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:57 pm

Really interested in this as well. Let me know how you get on as I was considering the whole new steering wheel route with the buttons on, but if the stalks work then that will be my way forward. If not what would i need to do steering replacement with the talk buttons and menu options? Thanks in advance.

claudiu2s
100BHP+
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:30 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (138bhp)
Location: Hemel Hempstead/Watford

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by claudiu2s » Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:40 am

Nubnubb0r wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:57 pm
Really interested in this as well. Let me know how you get on as I was considering the whole new steering wheel route with the buttons on, but if the stalks work then that will be my way forward. If not what would i need to do steering replacement with the talk buttons and menu options? Thanks in advance.
What year van u have? 2010+ are usually coming from factory with midline instrument cluster which will allow for range. u will only need the stalks and VCDS to code it all in. I can supply and fit the required stalks if local.
I have genuine VCDS, VagCAN Pro, SMOK and ODIS with online server access for any of your programming needs in Hemel Hempstead/Watford area.
vcds.diagnostic@gmail.com
https://www.facebook.com/pg/VCDSDiagnos ... e_internal
http://vcds-diagnostic.simplesite.com/

User avatar
andyreflexsilver
100BHP+
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:26 pm

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by andyreflexsilver » Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:37 am

If anybody else wants some, I also have a set of stalks in the for sale section with trip on the right and cruise on the left. Removed from my 2013 Caddy Trendline. At least they were in the for sale section a while ago, not sure if they still are? If not I will relist them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Seanick
Caddy Fan
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by Seanick » Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:32 pm

andyreflexsilver wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:37 am
If anybody else wants some, I also have a set of stalks in the for sale section with trip on the right and cruise on the left. Removed from my 2013 Caddy Trendline. At least they were in the for sale section a while ago, not sure if they still are? If not I will relist them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
How much you looking for the stalks m8?... guessing with coding this would work on 2011?

Cheers

Seanick

User avatar
Doc
Not God, just a bellend
Posts: 11816
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Monaghan, Ireland & Leicestershire, UK

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by Doc » Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:31 pm

https://www.caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=38942
You've checked the for sale section right?
Image
Image
2013 1.6TDI, Superplus Wheels MSP19 , Caddy4 rear lights, 2016 Polo GTI (mk7 style) steering wheel, TRC front splitter, Relentless Tuning front coilovers, Audi A6 S-Line front seats, mk6 GTI Front & rear Brakes, 3D Colour Premium dash cluster, Caddy life arm rest, Motexion bulkhead, 2016 MIB head unit


I have genuine VCDS Hex V2, VagCAN Pro, KESS, K-Tag for any of your programming needs.

Seanick
Caddy Fan
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: Highline upgrade

Post by Seanick » Thu Jun 20, 2019 8:29 pm

Doc wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:31 pm
https://www.caddy2k.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=38942
You've checked the for sale section right?
Yes I did pal.... but that I thought that was a different seller from the one I responded to in this chat?..... was looking at the ‘how to section’ and I thought someone had said it was around £60 for the bits to convert?

Cheers

Seanick

Post Reply