Saving a Caddy

Show off your caddy
Gareth
Caddy2k Groupie
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Saving a Caddy

Post by Gareth »

Hi everyone,

I'm Gareth from Belfast. I'm a mechanic and I own my own workshop based in Mallusk not far outside Belfast. My dad's had a Caddy for a brave few years, his is a 2007 1.9 TDI with a few extras. This is it the day we picked it up 5 years ago. It's been a great van and now even with 190k miles on it, it still drives great.

I haven't been particularly looking for anything to drive for work. But I got told about a Caddy that had been sitting up for over a year, it was a non starter and had suddenly broken down a while ago. I heard it was a bit rough, but when it was going, it had been running great. I must admit, anything with a VW badge on it I love working at. I find them simple to work on.

So this was it, a 2005 1.9 TDI Caddy. Rough, very much so. But I don't mind that, it means I can have a bit of a project and get it how I want it.

Someone had stripped the cam from it assuming that was the issue. I fitted new camshaft and buckets, Timing belt kit and water pump, Full service kit while I was there. Still not starting, I noticed an immobiliser issue coming on as a fault, but I knew that if it was only an Immo fault it would start and cut off. Eventually found that the turbo shaft had split in half, blocking the exhaust side. So fitted second hand turbo to see if it would start, finally it started and then cut straight back out. I knew this was the immobilisers fault, so removed immobiliser from ECU to save any hassle and to just get the van running, bang first time started and continued running.

Noticed that the radiator was leaking badly on the van, so decided to strip the front end off to fit new radiator and to also clean the dirty engine and box.