Torque settings

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
User avatar
Novakid
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 7:34 am

Torque settings

Post by Novakid » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:02 pm

Could someone tell me what the torque (NM) settings are for these bolts.
Arrows and numbers because I am not sure what they are all called.
It's a Asz engine.

1- Rocker bolts
2- main cylinder head bolts
3- injectors holding bolt
4- not sure what they are called but it's the vlock that the rockers sit on top off and hold the cam shaft down.

Thanks.
Sean Image

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk


Last edited by Novakid on Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:52 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Torque settings

Post by the swan fiend » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:20 pm

1 KN is a 1000 newton meters. I’m no engine mechanic but I very much doubt you’ll be tightening up to those values. I’d say your best measurement is NM or Ft-lbs.
A Haynes manual would give you all this information, and would be a worthy investment if you’re carrying out this sort of work.
Hope you get sorted mate


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rescue me from the swans in me

User avatar
Novakid
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 7:34 am

Re: Torque settings

Post by Novakid » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:26 pm

Sorry you are correct its NM
Only plan in doing this job once hopefully.
Will edit the post.
Cheers for that

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk


User avatar
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:52 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Torque settings

Post by the swan fiend » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:50 pm

No worries mate. Yeah you’ve been at this a while now, bet you’ll be glad to get it done and ok the road.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rescue me from the swans in me

User avatar
Novakid
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 7:34 am

Re: Torque settings

Post by Novakid » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:54 pm

Can't wait to get it running now only timming belt to be done then put it back in and turn the key.
Been flat out on other jobs and kids on holiday so not getting much time on it but will get there in the end.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk


User avatar
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:52 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Torque settings

Post by the swan fiend » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:56 pm

Hope it starts first time!!
Life gets busy.....it took me 2 years to get mine lowered


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rescue me from the swans in me

User avatar
Adie66
200BHP+
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:57 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)
Location: Manchester

Re: Torque settings

Post by Adie66 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:28 pm

2 mins mate an ill get u a photo from my manual of all the engine torque settings its asz i assume

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk


User avatar
Adie66
200BHP+
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:57 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)
Location: Manchester

Re: Torque settings

Post by Adie66 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:34 pm

Them are all the settings for the asz ImageImage

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk


Exuse my bad drawing Image

User avatar
Novakid
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 7:34 am

Re: Torque settings

Post by Novakid » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:56 pm

Some boy adie66
thanks

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk


User avatar
Adie66
200BHP+
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:57 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)
Location: Manchester

Re: Torque settings

Post by Adie66 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:21 pm

No worries buddy let me know you need any others info from the manual an ill put photos up of what u want

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk


User avatar
Doc
Not God, just a bellend
Posts: 12800
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Engine size/power: 2.0TSI EA888 Gen3
Location: Monaghan, Ireland & Leicestershire, UK

Re: Torque settings

Post by Doc » Wed Aug 14, 2019 10:11 pm

Remember that any bolts rated for a 2 stage tightening according to that book will be a stretch bolt which will need to be replaced rather than reusing the old one. Remember to clear out any oil that might run into blind holes before inserting a bolt as the oil may cause it to hydrolock and torque tighten before correctly loading as desired.
Image
Image
2013 1.6TDI, Superplus Wheels MSP19 , Caddy4 rear lights, 2016 Polo GTI (mk7 style) steering wheel, TRC front splitter, Relentless Tuning front coilovers, Audi A6 S-Line front seats, mk6 GTI Front & rear Brakes, 3D Colour Premium dash cluster, Caddy life arm rest, Motexion bulkhead, 2016 MIB head unit


I have genuine VCDS Hex V2, VagCAN Pro, KESS, K-Tag for any of your programming needs.

User avatar
Novakid
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 7:34 am

Re: Torque settings

Post by Novakid » Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:20 am

Cheers for that doc.
Will be replacing the bolts.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk


User avatar
Adie66
200BHP+
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:57 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)
Location: Manchester

Re: Torque settings

Post by Adie66 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 11:16 am

Just wondering are you replacing the bolts with genuine ones or are you getting the non strech bolt from darkside developments ?
Would like to know what the torque settings are on the non strech bolts as i need to pull all my injectors out so will need to replace the bolts

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk


User avatar
Novakid
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 7:34 am

Re: Torque settings

Post by Novakid » Thu Aug 15, 2019 11:24 am

Darkside and this is the torque settings that come with them.
I was comparing the difference on genuine ones at the start.
Image

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk



User avatar
Adie66
200BHP+
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:57 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)
Location: Manchester

Re: Torque settings

Post by Adie66 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 11:26 am

Sorted thanks for that ill get all my bolts ordered from them

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk


Post Reply