BANG! My engine just exploded...

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
Cultus
Caddy Fan
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:50 am
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by Cultus » Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:27 pm

Well done, do you have a picture of the new asz engine in the bay?
Did you get the asz engine swapped in with the injectors and turbo or did you keep the Vans original bls turbo and injectors?

User avatar
Frampers
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 9:21 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)
Location: Fleet, Hampshire

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by Frampers » Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:57 pm

Thanks, I will upload a photo tomorrow

It is running the original BLS turbo and injectors

User avatar
Peli
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 10:54 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (75bhp)
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by Peli » Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:53 pm

For my van the EGR is also codes but i have the EGR still on the engine. I only have a closed sail so i'm sure the EGR is not working.

Taylor26
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:33 pm
Engine size/power: 1.2 TSI (84bhp)

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by Taylor26 » Tue Jan 07, 2020 8:51 pm

This happened to my van as well :shock: I am mid way through doing a asz swap but I am retaining the 130 injectors but have changed to a 150 turbo but if you go this route you will have to get a custom remap straight away

User avatar
Frampers
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 9:21 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)
Location: Fleet, Hampshire

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by Frampers » Wed Jan 08, 2020 9:22 pm

As requested, heres how its looking currently:

Image

Nathan107578
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 11:31 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by Nathan107578 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 8:35 pm

Hey dude . How much did the new engine cost fitted ?

Cultus
Caddy Fan
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:50 am
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by Cultus » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:15 pm

Looking good, just watch out for where your pipes are cable tied together as they will move and rub as the engine runs and start to wear each other out ,
you could get some leaks, best but a little rubber or something between them then strap them together, it will save you getting stuck on the side of the road down the line !

jackspratjack
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 7:06 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by jackspratjack » Sun Oct 11, 2020 9:22 pm

Hi Everyone!!

I managed to buy a blown BLS caddy and I'm also trying to do this conversion, and use the ASZ turbo.

Its correct that the actuators are Push and Pull respectively, so do i just swap these over and thats that problem solved?

This is the one part in my research I have not been able to find clearly

Thanks in advance

Jack

User avatar
thecolourpurple
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:34 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by thecolourpurple » Mon Oct 12, 2020 2:33 pm

Stick a 2.0tsi in it

Sent from my SM-N770F using Tapatalk


jackspratjack
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 7:06 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by jackspratjack » Wed Oct 14, 2020 10:22 am

I for some reason like the sound of a tractor PD engine :D

shanky887614
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1368
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:05 pm

Re: BANG! My engine just exploded...

Post by shanky887614 » Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:50 am

jackspratjack wrote:
Sun Oct 11, 2020 9:22 pm
Hi Everyone!!

I managed to buy a blown BLS caddy and I'm also trying to do this conversion, and use the ASZ turbo.

Its correct that the actuators are Push and Pull respectively, so do i just swap these over and thats that problem solved?

This is the one part in my research I have not been able to find clearly

Thanks in advance

Jack
you dont need to swap the actuators, use the asz actuator that comes with the turbo.

if you use an asz engine it will need mapping for the bigger injectors

Post Reply