Rns510 coding?

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
Noo3000
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:08 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Rns510 coding?

Post by Noo3000 » Wed Nov 27, 2019 11:32 pm

Newbie here with a 2015 ex bg caddy.

Recently swapped the standard stereo for the rns510 and installed some rear speakers which are wired into the rear speaker port on the connector block.

Question is, do I need to use vagcom to change the settings to account for 4 speaker channels and "surround '? They work as is and can fade front to rear, but the sound isn't right.

Any help would be much appreciated

User avatar
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1327
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:52 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Rns510 coding?

Post by the swan fiend » Thu Nov 28, 2019 11:34 am

Hi mate. As far as I’m aware, you won’t need to do any coding for this. I’d have a play with your EQ on the stereo till you have a sound you’re happy with. Make sure your new rear speakers aren’t plugged into a low output as that’s for a subwoofer. Also check your fader and balance too


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rescue me from the swans in me

Noo3000
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:08 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Rns510 coding?

Post by Noo3000 » Thu Nov 28, 2019 12:50 pm

Thanks mate appreciate the reply. I had a fault checker connected yesterday and it showed an error code against the two rear speakers. Looking on Ross tech there are 2 codes to enable for surround and 4 speaker channels. Hmmm

User avatar
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1327
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:52 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Rns510 coding?

Post by the swan fiend » Thu Nov 28, 2019 1:49 pm

I could be wrong about the coding then mate. I’m not an expert by any means.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rescue me from the swans in me

User avatar
r1lea
Hyper Poster
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:23 am

Re: Rns510 coding?

Post by r1lea » Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:21 pm

You’ll need to code it to tell it to output / activate the rears



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
r1lea
Hyper Poster
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:23 am

Re: Rns510 coding?

Post by r1lea » Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:25 pm


User avatar
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1327
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:52 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Rns510 coding?

Post by the swan fiend » Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:37 pm

I stand corrected


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rescue me from the swans in me

peely
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:02 am
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Tf4 3sh

Re: Rns510 coding?

Post by peely » Thu Nov 28, 2019 6:10 pm

Would that be the same for the rns 315??
Golf mk6 seats,Touran rear seats,carpet,console,2017 caddy life mfsw,Audi s3air vents, passsat w8 interior light, golf mk6gttdi wheels,rear barn door spoiler , rns 510 head unit , revers camera,boarded and carpeted rear with led strip lights, mk4 rear lights .

User avatar
r1lea
Hyper Poster
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:23 am

Re: Rns510 coding?

Post by r1lea » Thu Nov 28, 2019 6:19 pm

I’d assume so mate


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Noo3000
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:08 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Rns510 coding?

Post by Noo3000 » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:17 am

r1lea wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:21 pm
You’ll need to code it to tell it to output / activate the rears



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Top man!! The info is much appreciated.
Cheers

Post Reply