KPH to MPH using VCDS

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
User avatar
Ripley55
100BHP+
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:38 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Kent/Suffolk

KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by Ripley55 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:11 am

Hi Chaps
I was reading a great little prompt from @Geraout, which read :
To show digital speed on the MFD you need to change the country details to Australia. I think that there is a European rule that requires speedos to show Mph & Kph which presumably doesn't apply in Australia.

The mod gives the option of switching off alt. speed display on the MFD settings; after which it shows the digital speed as one of the pages with fuel consumption trip time etc.

To set the country to Australia use controller 17 instruments and select the coding option. Open the long coding helper and select bit 4 and select Country Australia. Close the long coding helper and press Do It.

Once the coding had changed you can go into the settings on the MFD and change the units back to Mpg (GB) and miles as it will have defaulted to litres and km.

In the Settings menu untick the box for Alt. speed dis. the Kph speed will then be replaced with the outside temperature and will enable ... in the MFD Data menu. Tick the box for Digit. speed. If you switch Alt. speed back on, the digital speed option disappears.

This seems to confirm what I also saw on You Tube by Advanced-InCar.
I would really like/need to do this to mine, and have a friend lined up to do it for me in the future. My question is does anyone on here have any experience of doing this already using a VW main dealer or at home ? any hints ?

This is because my Caddy is booked in next Tuesday to have App Connect retro-fitted, and was going to ask that if it was a very quick Mod, could they do it there and then ? I just don't want to have my pants taken down if it's just 5-10 mins work say ?, as my mate will probably do it for me for Beer tokens :D although it's the arranging a time with him etc. which is a bit of a constraint as I'm currently starting on a Night-shift rota :(
Chestnut Brown Caddy Maxi Life , 19" ZEUS Alloys 225/35/19's, Lowered on Coil overs, Gloss Black Grilles, Carbon Fibre Rear Bumper Protector, Colour Coded Side Rail covers, Colour Coded Door Mouldings and Tailgate Roof Spoiler, Heko Wind deflectors, Satin Black Roof Bars, R Line Badges

James01
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 9:18 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by James01 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:50 am

It is pretty straightforward took 5 mins on mine

User avatar
Ripley55
100BHP+
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:38 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Kent/Suffolk

Re: KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by Ripley55 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:10 pm

Thanks for that James
The appointment I've got at the van Centre is for 07.30 am, so thinking OK I'll go there straight off Night shift, they said allow about 1.5 hrs to do the App Connect job, so if the Tech there is up for it, I'll ask him to add this coding while he's connected ?/ :D that's my plan anyway :) :)
Chestnut Brown Caddy Maxi Life , 19" ZEUS Alloys 225/35/19's, Lowered on Coil overs, Gloss Black Grilles, Carbon Fibre Rear Bumper Protector, Colour Coded Side Rail covers, Colour Coded Door Mouldings and Tailgate Roof Spoiler, Heko Wind deflectors, Satin Black Roof Bars, R Line Badges

Adamgav5000
Caddy Fan
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:55 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Hampshire

Re: KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by Adamgav5000 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:41 pm

As James said, it took me under 5 minutes. It also allows you to return to the KPH setting using the MFD. Great little mod.

James01
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 9:18 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by James01 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:13 pm

Only problem might be a main dealer not doing it due to not having kmh displayed due to laws maybe. Worth a ask tho

User avatar
Ripley55
100BHP+
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:38 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Kent/Suffolk

Re: KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by Ripley55 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:13 am

Spot on James
Sounds like they are reluctant to do this :roll: , so I've spoken to my mate who runs an independent VW garage, (who's going to put a new engine in my Beetle), and now going over there this Saturday, and going to have him do it. :D
Will post how I get on, as personally I think this is a must do Mod, I do go to France quite a bit, and I'll just tip it back to Kph temporarily in the MFD when I do go over.
Chestnut Brown Caddy Maxi Life , 19" ZEUS Alloys 225/35/19's, Lowered on Coil overs, Gloss Black Grilles, Carbon Fibre Rear Bumper Protector, Colour Coded Side Rail covers, Colour Coded Door Mouldings and Tailgate Roof Spoiler, Heko Wind deflectors, Satin Black Roof Bars, R Line Badges

User avatar
Ripley55
100BHP+
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:38 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Kent/Suffolk

Re: KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by Ripley55 » Sat Jan 18, 2020 8:01 pm

Well took it over to my mate Steve today, I was dropping off some bits for my Classic Beetle, as he's fitting a new engine in for me, and I hassled him to hook me up to VCDS and try this Mod out.

It was exactly as @Geraout said in his post, 5 minutes later, and the Caddy thinks it an 'Aussie' :D and I've got MPH in big Numbers in my screen now, with the temp display back down where the KPH was permanently.
I'm well pleased :D :D
Chestnut Brown Caddy Maxi Life , 19" ZEUS Alloys 225/35/19's, Lowered on Coil overs, Gloss Black Grilles, Carbon Fibre Rear Bumper Protector, Colour Coded Side Rail covers, Colour Coded Door Mouldings and Tailgate Roof Spoiler, Heko Wind deflectors, Satin Black Roof Bars, R Line Badges

User avatar
Stevemaxi
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 9:03 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Suffok

Re: KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by Stevemaxi » Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:53 am

This looks like a good mod to do, I need to just try to find someone in suffolk who does coding.
I thought about buying a cable and software but have never done any coding so am very concerned I would end up with a complete self inflicted mess :( probably wise to leave it to people who understand what they are doing and pay for their expertise :)

User avatar
Ripley55
100BHP+
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:38 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Kent/Suffolk

Re: KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by Ripley55 » Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:33 pm

Hi @Stevemaxi
My mate who did this is in Suffolk same as me :D He's in the IP13 area mate. He's doing some other work for me on my Classic beetle, when I asked him how much to hook up VCDS and do this mod, he said he wouldn't charge anything to me as it was so embarrassingly quick to do :D
I'm booked in to Ipswich VW Van Centre straight from Nightshift on Tuesday morning at 07.30 to get my App Connect uploaded, shame they won't do that for free :(
Chestnut Brown Caddy Maxi Life , 19" ZEUS Alloys 225/35/19's, Lowered on Coil overs, Gloss Black Grilles, Carbon Fibre Rear Bumper Protector, Colour Coded Side Rail covers, Colour Coded Door Mouldings and Tailgate Roof Spoiler, Heko Wind deflectors, Satin Black Roof Bars, R Line Badges

User avatar
Stevemaxi
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 9:03 am
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Suffok

Re: KPH to MPH using VCDS

Post by Stevemaxi » Sun Jan 19, 2020 9:17 pm

I just had my cambelt and health check done at wolsey van centre. They also got me on the VW Mot insurance policy which seems a good idea for about £12 one off payment so hopefully no big mot surprises for a while.

Post Reply