Proper Newbie....seeking advice

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
Drumsmasher
Caddy Fan
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Post by Drumsmasher »

Hi all,
As the title says, I am a proper newbie to this game. First time I’d sat in a caddy was last week when I took a chance and bought one. Absolutely chuffed to bits with it. I’d like to sound proof and insulate mine for starters, but with it all being so new, I’d like to be pointed in the right direction by people that know more than me. I’ve looked at the packs from deadening.co.uk for £144 and they seem good value, but does anyone have better ideas or better stuff to use? Also how can I add slightly bigger wheels safely, and what effects does it have. Hope you don’t mind this post, as I am keen to learn and want to upgrade my caddy without making loads of costly mistakes. Thanks
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster

Post by the swan fiend »

Hi mate, welcome to the forum. Sound deadening is a great mod to do. The first thing to think about is weather you’re keeping your bulkhead in. I’ve soundproofed my entire van, and I noticed that doing the rear didn’t make a huge difference, however if you plan on taking it out, then doing the rear will make a huge difference. If you’re going to go the whole hog, you’ll end up spending about £600 in all. That was silent coat over all single skin panels, Dodo mat 12mm super liner (deadening.co.uk do a foil backed version for insulation) over the silent coat, and Dodo mate pro van floor in the rear......this is quite expensive, if I could do it again I’d save money and use a mass loaded vinyl sheet from somewhere like here:

https://www.soundproofingstore.co.uk/st ... -p52901234

They also do a heavier duty version of this.

As for wheels, yes you can put bigger wheels on perfectly safely, but there are things you need to consider.
1)As the wheel diameter increases, you can loose some ride comfort.