Cables into doors

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
Yetiman25
100BHP+
Engine size/power: 1.4TSI

Cables into doors

Post by Yetiman25 »

So i think the answer is no but is there a sensible way to get decent speaker cable into doors or does the multi connector thingy just make it impossible? Its a 2018.

Cheers
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Cables into doors

Post by the swan fiend »

I’m no expert on this, but due to being heavy handed a while back, I had to replace my block connector on the door to body loom as I broke the plastic retaining clip on the connector, so I have a little experience.

I’m open to correction on this but I’m going to suggest finding out which connection on the block is the speaker wire and rewiring that into the door loom to the speaker using the correct pins.
As for the body side, you will have to de trim and replace the wire from the connector to the head unit.
There is a how to on here for stripping the door out which you’ll need to do. I’m not sure how much work is involved on the body side of the loom.
There are lots of electrical experts on here though, and some audiophiles too who can hopefully advise more.
Best of luck with the work mate

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rescue me from the swans in me
Doc
Not God, just a bellend
Engine size/power: 2.0TSI EA888 Gen3

Post by Doc »

You could use gold plated pins and recepticles on the A pillar socket/plug to give a super low resistance connection.
I doubt even the most sensitive of ear would pick up on the difference in the gold and tin coated.
2013 Caddy with EA888 Gen3 2.0TSI DSG, Superplus MSP19 , Caddy4 rear lights, Polo GTI (mk7 style) steering wheel, Relentless Tuning front coilovers, Audi A6 S-Line front seats, Boxster fronts & GTI rear Brakes, 3D Colour Premium dash cluster, Caddy life arm rest, Motexion bulkhead, MIB head unit