1.9TDI BLS Running Issues

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
Phillstine
Caddy2k Groupie
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Post by Phillstine » Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:44 am

Hello All,

I’ve recently taken on a project in the form of the old work van. As mentioned in my hello thread it was destined to be scraped and I couldn’t let that happen.

So the issue with the running is that it idles fine but when applying throttle it starts jumping/kangarooing/hesitating and kicking a lot of black smoke out.

I got to cleaning the EGR which didn’t help, it wasn’t that bad to be fair.

Ran diagnostics with VCDS which also shows no engine faults.

When removing the plug from the MAP sensor (boost pressure sensor) it no longer exhibits the hesitation and revs freely and no black smoke, so I bought a replacement sensor and it still has the issue with the new one.

I’m very new to diesels so as a result have little to no knowledge on them.

The engine is a 1.9tdi pd 104/5? BLS engine code.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated, as I’m at a bit of a loss now.

Thank you
Phill
Last edited by Phillstine on Fri Sep 25, 2020 12:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Caddy-Dan
Caddy2k Groupie

Re: Running Issues

Post by Caddy-Dan » Sat Sep 12, 2020 3:12 pm

Had a very similar fault on a golf 1.9 a while ago where it wouldn’t rev up properly, I did the same with cleaning egr valve, I could get it to run fine if any sensor was unplugged but never got to the bottom of it. Tried new maf sensor, boost sensor and everything. Customer ended up taking the car away and I never found out what the cause was. I’d like to know when you fix it what the problem was.

Phillstine
Caddy2k Groupie

Post by Phillstine » Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:44 pm

Yeah it’s a real pain to track down, I’ll update on here once I get anywhere in case someone in the future is struggling.