Dash Cam

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
edie209
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 9:35 pm

Dash Cam

Post by edie209 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 8:09 am

I want to put a dash cam into my Caddy(2014). I want to power it so that power is applied when I turn on the ignition. On my previous car (Golf MK4) I had it powered from the head unit which was an Android unit. In my CaddyI have a RNS315 which I intend on keeping, I would need to power a USB connection so are there any ways/kits to add switched usb. Or have you done it another way?

User avatar
Cabbs
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:58 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Manchester

Re: Dash Cam

Post by Cabbs » Wed Nov 18, 2020 8:14 am

[mention]edie209 [/mention]
Dependant on the make of your dash cam, there are hardwire kits available now. Mine is hardwired directly into the fuse box on the switched live rail. When I fire the van up on comes the cam. What make is the dash cam?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

edie209
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 9:35 pm

Re: Dash Cam

Post by edie209 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 8:18 am

Hi, Thanks for the reply

My dashcam is a Xiaomi 70mai

User avatar
Cabbs
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:58 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Manchester

Dash Cam

Post by Cabbs » Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:11 am

[mention]edie209 [/mention]

Type in eBay.......... “70mai dash cam hardwire kit”. There’s loads for sale. You can wire it directly then to the switched live side of the fuse box. They come with 3m of cable and instructions manual.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster
Posts: 2898
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:52 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Dash Cam

Post by the swan fiend » Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:47 am

I’ve got a nextbase camera and I’ve wired it directly to the ignition live in the fuse box using a hardwire kit. It’s not a difficult job to do, and it saves having wires trailing everywhere.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rescue me from the swans in me

User avatar
Papa Bear
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1503
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 10:44 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: Dash Cam

Post by Papa Bear » Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:53 am

I bought a twin usb 12v hard wired thing, wired back to the fuse box and positioned on the shelf above the windscreen. Cam plugged into that so no trailing wires.
Caddy Maxi Life 1.6TDI 7 speed DSG 102bhp
Black

Marmite lover!!!
VCDS

edie209
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 9:35 pm

Re: Dash Cam

Post by edie209 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 10:50 am

Thanks guys that is really helpful I will get that ordered up.

Is there any information available about the fuse box and what is available and switched.

Sent from my HD1900 using Tapatalk


User avatar
the swan fiend
Hyper Poster
Posts: 2898
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:52 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Dash Cam

Post by the swan fiend » Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:22 am

There is information somewhere about what rail is permanent live and what rail is switched live. I can’t remember which is which sorry.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rescue me from the swans in me

edie209
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 9:35 pm

Re: Dash Cam

Post by edie209 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:30 am

I suppose much of the information here is in the locked groups. Hopefully I will gain access soon.

But thanks for replying

Sent from my OnePlus 7T using Tapatalk


User avatar
Dons101
Caddy Fan
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 3:14 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Greystones, Ireland

Re: Dash Cam

Post by Dons101 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:33 am

@edie209
you have enough posts just read ALL of the message in announcements and reply to it to request access.
2011 Caddy Maxi Navy Blue, MFK remap to 142.6 bhp
Restless, avid traveler. Would rather hike in the mountains, fish in the sea, canoe in a lake or river than surf a couch.

edie209
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 9:35 pm

Re: Dash Cam

Post by edie209 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:34 am

Ok I will do that thank you

Sent from my OnePlus 7T using Tapatalk


User avatar
Cabbs
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:58 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Manchester

Re: Dash Cam

Post by Cabbs » Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:18 pm

[mention]edie209 [/mention]

adding extra fuses / circuits permanant / ignition live
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink/topic? ... source=app


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

edie209
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 9:35 pm

Re: Dash Cam

Post by edie209 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:43 pm

Thanks for the link, I can't access that part of the forum just but soon hopefully I have requested access.

Sent from my OnePlus 7T using Tapatalk


User avatar
Marin97
100BHP+
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 1:37 pm

Re: Dash Cam

Post by Marin97 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:35 am

My opinion on this is that its best for dash cam to be powered all the time, cuse if that dash cam has option to record on movement, or on for example car hits your front side on parking, your cam can save it for you to look it later..

For driving you can use old mobile phone and some app of play store :)

Poslano sa mog H4113 koristeći Tapatalk


:mrgreen: :mrgreen: Caddy VAN 2017 TDI DSG 6-speed 102hp :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Pics:
https://ibb.co/album/8bB8TJ

Post Reply