SDI cam in pd130 /150?

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
Davi926
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:14 pm

SDI cam in pd130 /150?

Post by Davi926 » Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:45 pm

Morning chaps.
As the title says really. Got a pd150 conversion running 240hp and have recently been getting lifter noise on cold startup until warm so was going to change the cam and lifters.
Have read that you can put in the cam of a sdi 68hp engine in there as it has a better duration than the tdi cam.
Has anyone done this or even know if it's possible.

CiaranCasso
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2021 11:49 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)

Re: SDI cam in pd130 /150?

Post by CiaranCasso » Wed Mar 24, 2021 12:45 am

The guys in darkside development are really helpful when it comes to these things I’d recommend giving them a call/email!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nelson w124
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:13 pm

Re: SDI cam in pd130 /150?

Post by Nelson w124 » Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:02 pm

Necesitas árbol de levas de 2.0 sdi pero tienes que comprarle en el servicio oficial, ya que en recambios usan el mismo árbol de levas para tdi/sdi.
La ganancia es pequeña y en altas rpm.

You need a 2.0 sdi camshaft but you have to buy it from the official service, since in spare parts they use the same camshaft for tdi / sdi.
Gain is small and at high rpm

shanky887614
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1376
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:05 pm

Re: SDI cam in pd130 /150?

Post by shanky887614 » Fri Apr 02, 2021 8:06 pm

the mk5 sdi uses a differnet cam to the tdi but i dont really think its worth getting its much better to buy an after market billet cam or highlift instead
a billet cam is 200-300 and a highlift is about the same then you need new stretch bolts and tappets
Last edited by Giddy on Fri Apr 02, 2021 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary quote of entire previous post

Post Reply