Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Show off your caddy
smiffy46
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:14 am
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by smiffy46 » Thu Mar 04, 2021 10:29 am

Really nice job you've done!

User avatar
Caddyluv
Hyper Poster
Posts: 4122
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:11 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (108bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Caddyluv » Fri Mar 05, 2021 4:15 pm

It will be a poor year this year. So not much will happen. But thanks for looking.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rab555Mc
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:29 pm
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Rab555Mc » Sat Mar 06, 2021 12:24 pm

Nice van mate, what kind of feel do you get off the r32 brake swap. Is it worth doing for the money ?

User avatar
Caddyluv
Hyper Poster
Posts: 4122
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:11 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (108bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Caddyluv » Mon Mar 08, 2021 12:24 pm

Yeah it’s worth doing. I’ve slammed them on once and I didn’t hit the car so I would say yeah worth doing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Caddyluv
Hyper Poster
Posts: 4122
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:11 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (108bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Caddyluv » Sat Mar 13, 2021 6:34 pm

Had to have green flag out today the battery has finally given up the ghost. So went down euros to help me, £439 but the lady told me to buy it online and 45% discount for 5 days. Just giving the van a little service as we are back to work next week after working 14 weeks in the last 12 months.

Fluids fine the van is dirty as... but I will do that next week. I’ve sorted out the fogging of the passenger headlight for now I put 4 silicone packets in. Seems to have dried it out, think it was just build up of condensation... hot and cold weather and it not getting warm from the inside as no lights have been on since the 23rd December. So we will see.

Don’t think I’ve ever fitted a battery. I’m sure it’s not hard. Just never done one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Beaker2135
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 6:28 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)
Location: Cumbria

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Beaker2135 » Sat Mar 13, 2021 7:04 pm

Hi Ryan have a look at battery megastore I got one of these
S5 008 Bosch Car Battery 12V 77Ah Type 096 S5008
For £85 delivered. Plenty on here seem to recommend it and it’s the biggest that will fit in the tray/box. I didn’t have to code it in I’m not sure if yours is the same though
If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is

User avatar
Caddyluv
Hyper Poster
Posts: 4122
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:11 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (108bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Caddyluv » Sat Mar 13, 2021 7:09 pm

Mines start stop. But I will look. Thank you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Caddyluv
Hyper Poster
Posts: 4122
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:11 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (108bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Caddyluv » Sat Mar 13, 2021 7:13 pm

Just looked yeah they are a bit cheaper. But the Bosch and VARTA are both out of stock. . You lot have been buying them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Innes Buchanan
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 7:42 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Innes Buchanan » Sat Mar 13, 2021 9:37 pm

Did the calipers fit on the standard discs ?

User avatar
Caddyluv
Hyper Poster
Posts: 4122
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:11 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (108bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Caddyluv » Sat Mar 13, 2021 10:25 pm

Don’t know I put on bigger vented disks on. Sorry I can’t help.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Azz03
Hyper Poster
Posts: 663
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 8:28 am

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Azz03 » Sat Mar 13, 2021 10:33 pm

Think you have to have the stop start batteries coded I had to have mine done on my q3


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Jmoorby
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:37 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Jmoorby » Sun Mar 14, 2021 12:08 am

Just spent ages reading through your build absolutely love it! Definitely plenty of ideas for my white build. I doubt it’ll ever look as good and clean as yours but it’s definitely give me inspiration!
Last edited by Jmoorby on Sun Mar 14, 2021 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
White 2015 Caddy 1.6 highline - Genuine Ross Tech HEX v2/VCDS

User avatar
Caddyluv
Hyper Poster
Posts: 4122
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:11 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (108bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Caddyluv » Sun Mar 14, 2021 7:01 am

Thanks mate. I like my van, it gets lots of love when I’m driving.

Thanks for reading.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Ripley55
Hyper Poster
Posts: 944
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:38 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Kent/Suffolk

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Ripley55 » Sun Mar 14, 2021 11:46 am

Hi @Caddyluv
What Battery are you going to go for ? I’ve had a few problems with mine lately, and have left it on a conditioner for now, so interested in any recommendations. 😉
I honestly didn’t know you had to code in a new Battery if you’re a Stop/Start model 😩 are you one ? I had mine off a couple of weeks back to fit Battery Box, and it turned out a mare, as I didn’t have a long socket extension to get to the holding down plate bolt. On completion just had to do the old hard lock left and right to clear the errors.
Chestnut Brown Caddy MK4 Maxi Life 2.0Tdi 150bhp , 19" ZEUS Alloys 8.5J, 235/35/19's

User avatar
Caddyluv
Hyper Poster
Posts: 4122
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:11 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (108bhp)

Re: Stormtrooper caddy 4 build

Post by Caddyluv » Sun Mar 14, 2021 12:05 pm

You don’t have to code it in... I’ve just put in the same brand. A lot of the time the fault codes will clear. But yeah full left and right. Sometimes you might have to re learn the windows.

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Reply