Caddy Down Unda' Build

Show off your caddy
son of eevil
Caddy Fan
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

Caddy Down Unda' Build

Post by son of eevil »

Well, I'm doing a little bit (cosmetically) to this new (old) girl so I figure I'll kick off a build thread to keep track of everything.

So lets talk a little about what she is and the condition I got her in.

She's a 2007 1.9 TDI with the 6 speed DSG, 180,000K's on the clock. Low K's considering her age and not without her battle scars.

At a glance she doesn't look to bad, what I'd call a "20-footer" Looks great from 20 feet away but if you get close you can see all her little imperfections and blemishes.

I'm a professional car detailer and this was the vehicle I decided would best suit me for mobile work. The condition it's in is super important, I can't turn up to clients places in something that looks a bit ratty, so presentation is extremely important.

You can see in this one, a big nasty scratch under the rear window.

and in general there's a lot of blemishes on the body, most of these can be buffed out (It's what I do)

Here's a nice before and after, most of the blemishes you can see in the photos didn't stand up to an orbital and some cutting compound.

Overall, the condition was fair, but it was all fixable, she's booked in for a months time to get the right hand side scratch fixed, resprayed and the bumpers colour matched which I'm very excited about.

One of the first orders of business was modernising the outdated stereo, I opted to go with a nice Sony double din touch screen with Android Auto, now fitted with a reversing camera as well. God damn I love this thing.

Next step is getting the servicing up to date. Look at this disgusting cabin filter. It was so heavily blocked that the #4 fan speed setting had about the same power as the #2 setting. I couldn't believe the difference the panel filter made. If you haven't done yours. do it.