Refill adblue randomly

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
stagro1
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 7:07 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Refill adblue randomly

Post by stagro1 »

Hello,
is it possible to refill randomly the Adblue or it is possible only when the message to refill will show up?

Then, when I will refill adblue and I forgot to wait 30s with ignition on, it will probably not know about the refilling, so I will switch the engine off end then turn the ignition end wait 30s, will this correctly measure the actuall level of adblue or the added adblue will not be detected anymore?

DFSD 2.0 2019 75KW

Thanks!
User avatar
Alex mc
200BHP+
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:36 pm
Engine size/power: 2.0 TDI (140bhp)
Location: Central Scotland

Re: Refill adblue randomly

Post by Alex mc »

It’s best to wait until the top up message pops up. You will usually find it won’t recognise the top up until you have driven it for a bit .

I’ve tried what you have said when I first got my caddy however it continues to count down until the low level message pops up .

It’s seems to be it only registers when it’s topped up from low level warning range which is around 900 -1500 .

Once it’s topped off and driven the range should go to 5000miles. (Mines does ) but I’m not sure if there are different tank sizes which might give more.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
Nicklouse
Twin Turbo poster
Posts: 415
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2023 2:39 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Refill adblue randomly

Post by Nicklouse »

The biggest issue is people over filling it. It uses ultrasonic sensors to detect the level.

It takes an average level to gauge how much is in it. Over fill it and it can not get a reading .
stagro1
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 7:07 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Refill adblue randomly

Post by stagro1 »

How to not overfill it when in user maual is written that it is possible to use refuelling nozzle to refill the adblue and it says that adblue tank is full when the nozzle turn-off for the first time. Then the adblue level must be up to the bottom of refuelling nozzle.
User avatar
gazza31112
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1335
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 9:51 am

Re: Refill adblue randomly

Post by gazza31112 »

Just my 2 cents, Iv never had a problem filling it up before the message comes up.
My mum's partner always saves me some from work so when I go to visit I always bung a few liters in, however full the tank is. Also never had an issue overfilling it, I always fill it until it overflows. Never caused any problems. I have read about the ultrasonic sensors having issues when overfilling, but Iv never experienced any in nearly 5 years.


Sent from my Pixel 8 Pro using Tapatalk





stagro1
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 7:07 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Refill adblue randomly

Post by stagro1 »

Ok, and did the car computer update the estimated range after filling it (with couple of litters before the mesaage info about the last 2400km pops up)?
User avatar
gazza31112
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1335
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 9:51 am

Re: Refill adblue randomly

Post by gazza31112 »

9 times out of 10 it will register on the first start after filling, rarely it will take 2-3 starts, personally I wouldn't worry too much. It will figure it out eventually

Sent from my Pixel 8 Pro using Tapatalk

stagro1
Caddy2k Groupie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 7:07 pm
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: Refill adblue randomly

Post by stagro1 »

Ok, and do you wait for the ~30s to update?
User avatar
gazza31112
Hyper Poster
Posts: 1335
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 9:51 am

Re: Refill adblue randomly

Post by gazza31112 »

I start it when I need to start it mate . Pretty sure I must have started it before that in the past

Sent from my Pixel 8 Pro using Tapatalk

Post Reply