High gear/Low revs shake.. See post!

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
StePar
Caddy2k Groupie
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

High gear/Low revs shake.. See post!

Post by StePar »

Afternoon guys,

So I've recently picked up my first caddy.. Ive started to notice a little shaking if trying to accelerate between 1000-1500 rpm in 3rd/4th/5th.

I've read a few posts on here and various forums, some which say I need to change down gear to accelerate and others say it could be the dog bone mount.

So the car I came from was an A class 2.2 litre which was mapped and had plenty of torque throughout the rev range.. so might be that i'm just not changing down enough BUT I popped the bonnet earlier and had a little wiggle of the engine.. there is definitely some forward and back movement there.

Now i'm no mechanic and I have zero experience with these caddys but is this bit of play normal or do I need to be looking at the mounts?

Thanks in advance.

(2013 1.6 Caddy)
EricsCaddy
100BHP+
Engine size/power: 2.0 CR TDI (83bhp)

Re: High gear/Low revs shake.. See post!

Post by EricsCaddy »

In a nut shell, no movement.

But the mounts are all rubber so will have some very slight wiggle room, I usually wedge a big bar somewhere and pry off them to get movement, if just rocking the engine by hand and getting movement then sounds like ones failed.

Those engines have 3 mounts, one on the left just beside the coolant bottle, one on the right under the battery tray and one on the very bottom under the middle area of the engine.

A good way to check if you have a helper is get them to firmly apply the handbrake, put it into 1st gear and bring the clutch up and watch the engine move, you can do that going between 1st and reverse to see which mounts failed.

And for what it’s worth it may be the flywheel rattling also.

Good luck!
Last edited by EricsCaddy on Fri Jul 01, 2022 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.